OFFICERS - Executive Committee

OOSS Officers are elected by the Board of Directors and assume primary responsibility for setting and executing the agenda of the board, assuming the powers of the board between regular meetings, and overseeing the work of the OOSS executive staff.


Maria C. Scott, M.D.
Chesapeake Eye Care & Laser Center
Annapolis, Maryland

Vice President, President-elect & AAO Councilor

Cathleen McCabe, M.D.
Eye Associates Ambulatory Surgery Center, The Eye Associates
Bradenton, Florida

Treasurer and Vice President-elect

David George, M.D.
Physicians Outpatient Surgery Center
Belpre, Ohio


Andrew J. Gillies, M.D., FACS
Surgisite Boston, Dedham Ophthalmic Consultants & Surgeons
Dedham, Massachusetts

Chairman of Government Relations

Y. Ralph Chu M.D.
Chu Vision Surgery Center, The Chu Vision Institute
Bloomington, Minnesota

Chairman of Member Relations

Frank Cotter, M.D.
Roanoke Valley Center for Sight, Vistar Eye Center – Vision & Surgery Specialists
Salem, Virginia

Immediate Past President

Jeffrey Whitman, M.D.
Key-Whitman Eye Center
Dallas, Texas

Vitreo-retinal Liaison

Pravin Dugel, M.D.
Retina Consultants of Arizona
Sun City, Arizona

Liaison to Anesthesiology Community

Lawrence Rabinowitz, M.D.
Anesthesiology Consultants of Essex
Alpine, New Jersey

BOARD OF DIRECTORS – Directors & Associate Directors

OOSS Board members provide industry representation and leadership, establish policy, and provide strategic direction, decisions and oversight of operations, programs and initiatives.


Victor H. Gonzalez, M.D.
Valley Retina Institute, P.A.
McAllen, Texas


Michael Jones, M.D.
Quantum Vision Centers
Swansea, Illinois


Mark Kontos, M.D.
Empire Eye Surgery Center
Spokane, Washington


Keith Liang, M.D.
Center for Sight
Sacramento, California


Francis Price, M.D.
Price Vision Group
Indianapolis, Indiana


Tom Harvey, M.D.
Independent Surgery Center
Eau Claire, Wisconsin


Karl Olsen, M.D.
Eye Center of Northern Colorado
Loveland, Colorado


Michael Patterson, D.O. 
Eye Centers of Tennessee
Crossville, Tennessee


Audrey R. Talley Rostov, M.D.
Northwest Eye Surgeons
Seattle, Washington


Denise M. Visco, M.D.
Eyes of New York
York, Pennsylvania


Associate Director

John P. Blanck, M.B.A, C.P.A
Surgery Partners, NovaMed, Inc., Overland Park Surgery Center
Overland Park, Kansas

Associate Director

John R. Grant, M.B.A., M.H.A.
AMSURG Corporation
Nashville, Tennessee

Associate Director

Nikki Hurley, RN, M.B.A.
Key-Whitman Eye Center
Dallas, Texas

Associate Director

Robert B. Nelson, PA-C
Island Eye Surgicenter
Westbury, New York

Associate Director

Todd Albertz
Cincinnati Eye Institute
Cincinnati, Ohio

Associate Director

Mark King
Tyson Eye
Cape Coral, Florida

Associate Director

Maria Tietjen, RN, BSN
American SurgiSite Centers
Somerset, New Jersey

EMERITUS LEADERS – Past Presidents and Directors

OOSS values the important contributions of past presidents and directors for their inspiring passion and enduring commitment to the vision and mission.

President Emeritus

Jerome H. Levy, M.D., F.A.C.S.
New York Eye Surgery Center
The Bronx, New York

President Emeritus & Chief Medical Editor, The Ophthalmic ASC

William J. Fishkind M.D., F.A.C.S.
Fishkind, Bakewell & Maltzman Eye Care & Surgery Center
Tucson, Arizona

President Emeritus

R. Bruce Wallace, III, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Wallace Eye Surgery Center
Alexandra, Louisiana

President Emeritus

Bradley C. Black, M.D.
Bradley Black Eye Associates
Jeffersonville, Indiana

President Emeritus

Larry Patterson, M.D.
Eye Centers of Tennessee
Crossville, Tennessee

Director Emeritus

Lynn McMahan, M.D.
Southern Eye Center
Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Director Emeritus

Jon-Marc Weston, M.D.
Vision Surgery & Laser Center
Roseburg, Oregon

Director Emeritus

Glenn A. deBrueys, C.E.O.,
American SurgiSite Centers
Somerset, New Jersey

EXECUTIVE STAFF – Operations, Advocacy & Membership

OOSS Executive Staff are responsible for the management of financial and day-to-day operations, governmental advocacy and member services.

Executive Director

Diane Blanck
OOSS Corporate Office
811 West 57th Terrace
Kansas City, MO 64113

Washington Counsel

Michael Romansky, JD
1740 T Street, NW, Unit 1
Washington, DC 20009

Member Services Consultant

Albert Castillo, M.B.A.
800 McCullough
San Antonio, TX 78215

Immediate Past Executive Director

Kent L. Jackson, Ph.D.
4671 E. Phillips Place
Centennial, Colorado 80122