Scott Joins AAO Leadership Class of 2017


As a participant in the AAO Leadership Development Program XIXI, Maria C. Scott, M.D., will be working to enhance the collaboration between OOSS Gives and Operation Sight, an ASCRS Foundation program that provides free cataract surgery to financially disadvantaged patients. Specifically, Scott is developing an operating manual to help cataract surgeons incorporate charitable work with Operation Sight into their practices and affiliated surgery centers.

Scott is one of 20 participants chosen for the leadership development program’s Class of 2017. She currently serves as vice president of the Outpatient Ophthalmic Surgery Society and as an AAO Councilor representing the ophthalmic ASC community. The prestigious AAO program, established in 1998, provides leadership training and opportunities for a select group of participants nominated by state, subspecialty, and specialized interest societies. Scott, who is the founder and medical director of the Chesapeake Eye Care and Laser Center and the medical director of the TLC Laser Eye Center in Annapolis, Md., represents OOSS.

“With the increasing complexity and changing landscape of healthcare, now more than ever it is critical for leaders to inspire their team and achieve their collective, as well as individual, goals,” says Scott. “I am particularly excited about this program because it will give me the opportunity to further enhance my leadership skills, which will greatly benefit my role as vice president of OOSS.

Participants will take part in sessions with AAO leadership in San Francisco, at the Academy’s Mid-Year Forum in April in Washington D.C., and at AAO 2017 in Las Vegas. The DC session also includes scheduled visits on Capitol Hill with members of Congress.

A graduate of Philadelphia’s Jefferson Medical College, Scott is a member of the Society for Excellence in Eyecare, ASCRS, AAO, Ophthalmic Women Leaders, the American College of Eye Surgeons, and many other organizations. One of the nation’s most respected cataract surgeons, Scott ranks in the top 5 percent of cataract surgeons nationally for number of surgeries performed.

Other participants in the LDP XIXI, Class of 2017 include:

  1. Alabama Academy of Ophthalmology
    Russell W. Read, MD PhD
  2. American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Ophthalmology
    Stacey J. Kruger, MD
  3. American Osteopathic College of Ophthalmology
    Erin P. Benjamin, DO
  4. American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
    Catherine J. Hwang, MD FACS
  5. Arizona Ophthalmological Society
    Derek Y. Kunimoto, MD JD
  6. Colorado Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
    Rebecca Sands Braverman, MD
  7. Eye Bank Association of America
    Michelle K. Rhee, MD
  8. International Council of Ophthalmology
    Seyhan Bahar Ozkan, MD
  9. International Society of Refractive Surgery
    George O. Waring IV, MD
  10. Iowa Academy of Ophthalmology
    Jeffrianne S. Young, MD
  11. Kentucky Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
    John M. Franklin, MD
  12. National Medical Association, Ophthalmology Section
    Adrienne W. Scott, MD
  13. North Carolina Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
    Kathleen B. Gordon, MD
  14. Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company
    Robert G. Fante, MD FACS
  15. South Carolina Society of Ophthalmology
    Scott K. Schultz, MD
  16. Washington DC Metropolitan Ophthalmological Society
    Natasha L. Herz, MD
  17. West Virginia Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
    Mark D. Mayle, MD
  18. Wisconsin Academy of Ophthalmology
    Suzanne M. Falkenberry, MD
  19. Women in Ophthalmology
    Erin M. Shriver, MD FACS