OOSS Scholars Program

The OOSS Scholars Program is a partnership of OOSS, the American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives (AAOE), the AAO Young Ophthalmologist (YO) Committee, and AAO/AAOE, which is designed to support and mentor young ophthalmologists who are interested in future ownership of an ambulatory surgery center. Offered in coordination with the AAOE and the AAO YO Program/AAOE Young Ophthalmologists Program, the OOSS Scholars Program is now accepting applications.

Participants in the OOSS Scholars Program receive a free annual OOSS membership, renewable for up to five years or until they affiliate with an ophthalmic ASC, whichever comes first. OOSS scholars are assigned an OOSS mentor to help them navigate the programs and services of OOSS.

Applicants to the Scholars Program also may apply simultaneously for the OOSS Presidential Scholarship, which provides a stipend to cover registration fees and travel expenses to attend the OOSS Symposium 2017 and the AAO/AAOE Annual Meeting in New Orleans on Nov. 11-14. Scholarship winners will be selected by the OOSS president and executive committee and announced by October 6. Scholarship recipients must attend the OOSS Symposium and AAO/AAOE Annual Meeting to receive their stipends.

Deadline for consideration for the 2017 OOSS Presidential Scholarship is Sept. 30, 2017.

Applications for the OOSS Scholars Program are considered on an ongoing basis, although only those who apply on or before Sept. 30 will be considered for a presidential scholarship.

To apply for admission to the OOSS Scholars Program and for the OOSS Presidential Scholarship, please CLICK HERE.